Just being me and hoping to inspire you, from my light to yours…

With the extra time I have had to work on Our Home, The Earth I have been coming up with some new ideas. I have a list of possible ideas that could be used in a classroom with the book as a segue for discussing ways to care for our environment. I also wrote a song. The idea for the song came up while I was pushing my daughter on the swing. We often pair the two together, swinging and singing, and coming up with this little rambling I knew I had to write it down and expand on it later. This is the end result:

Spinning world,
Spinning world,
Spreading seeds as the wind does whirl,
Growing food and growing life,
Thank you for air, water, and light.

Touching ears,
And touching knees,
Thank you for this body you feed,
So much joy I jump with glee,
Thank you world for loving me.

Spinning world,
Spinning world,
Spreading seeds as the wind does whirl,
Planting hopes and planting dreams,
Watering gardens with life’s stream,

Touching hearts,
And holding hands,
Thank you for this place I stand,
So much joy to sing we must,
Thank you world for loving us!

I even have motions for the kids to do as they sing it. And a local piano teacher is working on writing the music notes for me. It would be super cute to see performed. So my current plan is to include Spinning World at the back of the book. So fun!

Leave a Reply

