Just being me and hoping to inspire you, from my light to yours…

English: Home position - Hand position for typ...

Some of you may know that I have been transcribing for many days putting hand-written journal entries into a document on my computer. To date it has been 80 consecutive days and I have 108,873 total words!

The series of 4 journals I am transcribing are from last September through the end of December. I was chronicling a shift that I was going through, a deepening of a connection to myself as well as to the Earth, and like any journal, it was just me being me and writing my life down. Sometimes I wrote as a multi-dimensionally aware spiritual being and sometimes as a much too crabby mom/wife. In volleying back and forth I found that life flows in many different directions and that it is hard to stay centered in just one way of being even though it seems I consistently keep trying.

Half-way through the experience I started to understand that these journals were to be a book, in fact 2 books, so that is why I have been working so diligently at transcribing daily. Even if it is 5 words or 4,000 I get something done. I also have been holding myself accountable on Facebook and twitter posting my daily words transcribed. It has kept me going which is a good thing because I am honestly getting tired of it. So, here is where I am with my overall plan. I will get through the journal entries that carry me through to the end of October and then when I get there I will be giving myself a much deserved break. When I come back to it in a week or two, I will then start to edit the journals and begin to write the first book.

This has been a daunting thought for me for a while now. I wonder how am I ever going to be able to make any sense out of all of this and make it into a “story!?” Thank goodness for my writing buddy to help get me in the right frame of mind for this looming writing process. (By the way she too is a blogger- http://merspiration.wordpress.com/)

In our last conversation I was expressing to her that I didn’t know how I was going to make sense of any of this. That I read other people’s memoirs and they read like a novel, but my journal entries are so choppy, I didn’t know how I would be able to write it to flow from one thought into another. She gave me the name of a book to check out that had a different flow in being a memoir and encouraged me that if I have a different technique and I lay it out for the readers at the beginning than it should be ok to follow. I said a little prayer asking for, “perfect ease and flow in creating my memoir,” and I left the conversation trusting whatever it is supposed to be it will be.

I feel a lot more comfortable now and am actually looking forward to going back through my jumbled mess of ramblings knowing it will take its own form as I re-write and create it. I don’t have to make it be like anyone else’s work, I just have to make it my own and that I know I can do.

So NEW goal is to be done transcribing by the end of this month. Yikes! Did I just really say that? Follow my progress on Facebook and see if I am able to make my deadline. http://www.facebook.com/KorinnBooks. I am secretly a little annoyed with myself for making this statement as I have 20 days of journal entries to get through in the next 11 days. I guess I better get to work.

Leave a Reply

