Just being me and hoping to inspire you, from my light to yours…

Last night I got the unique opportunity to take my children to a sacred drumming ceremony. It was in honor of the 8th Anniversary of the World Drum. The World Drum was created in Norway in 2006 and has been travelling across the world to many countries and many people uniting our sacred tie as human beings with one beat, the heart beat of the Earth. Its focus is on Peace and Environmental Issues.

My night wasn’t going so well. My daughter did not nap at preschool and was very crabby and my son too seemed to not be in a pleasant mood. I had wanted to take them out for a walk somewhere, take them to dinner, and then meet at the location of the World Drum event at 6:00pm for the ceremony. But, as often happens with children in your life, plans changed quickly based on the current condition of the child. I needed to bend to accommodate them and not take them out and about and potentially stretch them even further emotionally. So we stayed home, made dinner at home, and unfortunately the crabbiness continued. There were several points where I felt like just forgetting going to the World Drum event. But there was a piece of me that just wouldn’t let it go, I couldn’t get it out of my mind. So, I took the dare of this being a big mistake and brought my two crabby kids to the event in hopes that it would go well. I am so grateful that I did and was very thankful my children were peaceful for the experience– although who am I kidding, while in the presence of the World Drum how could one not feel peace.

My son Gavin happened to be holding the World Drum when it was time for the reading of the prayer. All other drums were silent as he alone got to beat the heart beat of Mother Earth on the World Drum during this very special moment in ceremony. It was very moving and I was very happy for this special opportunity given to him.

Here are a few pictures from our night: my children playing sacred flutes and Gavin with the World Drum.

worlddrumkids           world drum gavin

For more information on the world drum

http://www.eaglecondorfoundation.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=56&Itemid=63

Leave a Reply

